Switching to the fast lane

Hopefully by the time I get home from work today a telecomms engineer will have upgraded our Internet connection to a much faster fibre service.

We live within the urban setting of the capital but due to the technical limitations of broadband and the distance we live from the nearest exchange our ADSL connection has always been disappointingly slow. Out of the 8 Mb/s top rating for the service we have been on download speed rarely broke past 3 Mb/s. Our new service has a top speed of 40 Mb/s.

Raw speed of download doesn’t have much to do with playing MMO gaming, reliability of connection and low latency is more relevant for that. But given the amount of games I have installed, all of which requiring regular patching. I’m hoping this new connection may reduce the annoyance of starting up a game I’ve taken a break from only to find myself stuck watching a download screen…

This entry was posted in MMORPG. Bookmark the permalink.