AFK, prep and mobile-tie ins

This weekend has been dominated, in part, by gaming preparations for an AFK break – we’re off on holiday from tomorrow. For the MMO player that means certain specific tasks are probably due: like checking for almost expired mails on all your characters, sending off all the  research-type tasks that you can, saying “au revoir” to guildmates so they know why you’ll be absent, etc.

I was playing Everquest 2 anyway to level my woodworking; so checking skill research was easy enough on the three characters I have high enough to be eligible for these free skill quality upgrades. Four characters have housing that needs regular rent payments too, though you can pay up to just over a month in advance, so a short holiday is easily covered.

Long research times can be a bonus

In Elder Scrolls Online, I have research tasks on my blacksmith to manage, but they take a day at most so that character will be idle for pretty much all of the time I’m away. I still have plenty of items gathered from the last couple of sessions to feed into my trait research, but given the long times needed (12-24 hours mostly), it’s going to take a couple of weeks of casual play to clear them all.

A dozen items = over a week of research time

For World of Warcraft there is the Companion App to manage class hall tasks while we’re away. That’s a whole other post probably; as there’s a danger of not unplugging from gaming, as part of normal life, if I use the app too much while away.  Still it is very nice to have the app as an option. In preparation for going away we spent a good chunk of time running the weekly “20 world quests” task to get 5000 hall resources, I managed it on three characters in the time I had free. That chunk of resources is more than enough to feed class hall missions for the time we are away.

The Companion App covers a lot of class hall functions

This then shows an advantage that World of Warcraft has over the other games I play, it allows me to manage certain “busy work” tasks that might only take 5 minutes to arrange from the phone app. If I’m at the library or on a lunch break at work I can still engage with the game without needing the full client. Likewise when travelling for leisure or business, I can still keep my characters ticking over. I’d like some kind of crafting app for ESO as many of the crafting professions need a similar amount of daily attention as do WoW’s class halls. Indeed, I’d even like a remote way of managing my Everquest 2 character’s skill research although a full-blown app would be overkill, perhaps via a website interface like WoW’s armoury?

As an aside I will be afk for just over a week. I have a couple of further posts scheduled, but will not be able to respond to comments straight away. Happy gaming in the meantime!

This entry was posted in EQ2, ESO, Gaming, WoW. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to AFK, prep and mobile-tie ins

Comments are closed.