Rift: levels and builds

I’ve been focusing on non-linear content in Rift of late because I was finding my character too weak to tackle quests in Draumheim, probably due to his gear being somewhat behind the difficulty curve. There’s no shortage of what else I can do however, including invasion events in that zone, Instant and Intrepid Adventures also give currencies and the odd random drop that can help to fix this issue.

End boss for Life invasion

End boss for Life invasion

In case my build was also at fault I also decided to try a Shaman based build. This has given me a slightly easier rotation than the equivalent Druid build I was playing most often before. I’m finding it seems more impactful without sacrificing survivability. I’m not 100% convinced having a splash of Druid is worthwhile as the basic pets are pretty weak, so I may experiment with a different third soul to round out the build further.

Previous Druid build

Previous Druid build

New Shaman build

New Shaman build

I had a zone quest to collect items from Invasions, which I finished last night. I’ve been running Intrepid Adventures and have a real appreciation for the striking art designs for the Hammerknell fortress. One section, which I’ve not seen on previous Intrepid Adventures here, takes place on the storm-wracked outer walls of the raid.

Hammerknell walls

Hammerknell walls

I’ve also started trialling a DPS meter add-on, I’ve not used add-ons with Rift before but I wanted to have a way to quantify the performance of my different builds one to another. I lack the competitive drive to care about my dps versus other players, however having a simple measurement to see whether a new build is objectively better than a previous one makes a lot of sense to me.

 

This character is just shy of level 63 now, so two levels shy of getting to the latest content in Starfall Prophecy. Seeing this latest expansion is my main goal in-game at the moment.

This entry was posted in Gaming, Rift. Bookmark the permalink.