Surreal virtual moments

I’ve been extra glad of some pure virtual escapism as real world news gets worse and worse. I’ve greatly appreciated several recent moments in MMO games that featured imaginative storytelling, plain surreal situations and unexpected humour.

SWTOR

Bond film opening credits remake?

Bond film opening credits remake?

I can’t say much about this image without story spoilers for the Imperial Agent. There is an in-game reason why my character appears to be spewing miniature people from his mouth, needless to say at the time I was impressed and confused by the surrealism of this montage. It did remind me stylistically of an early Bond film opening credits.

Rift

Fear the watery sky

Fear the watery sky

I’ve just progressed from Goboro Reef onwards to the Draumheim zone, which surprisingly is way below the former and separated from it by a layer of ocean. So my character looks upwards and sees giant Akvan tentacled monstrosities swimming in the sky above his head. That’s not something you see every day…

WoW

Wheeee

Wheeee

Sometimes absurdity takes over in MMORPGs, and not always by design. While running World Quests on my shaman with my Husband’s druid – it’s quickest if I ride around on his upgraded travel form. That plus the reusable kite allowed us to ride off a high peak in Azsuna and glide a third of the way across the zone. Now, that’s a way to travel!

This entry was posted in Gaming, Rift, SWTOR, WoW. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Surreal virtual moments

Comments are closed.