Gaming mix in early 2017

My current MMORPG gaming mix has changed somewhat since coming back from the holidays, as usual I have more stalwart games than I can find time to play so I have my usual shortlist that I try to concentrate on in order to make progress on self-imposed goals.

World of Warcraft

WoW remains our main trio game at the moment, although 7.1.5 didn’t add much for small groups beyond the new grind to upgrade legendary items. We’re leveling alts now through the Legion content; learning the quest chains to do and those to skip to get through zones efficiently. As I’ve written before playing the same zones again and again can be a path to boredom, so we’re also doing some rounds of World Quests as times and mood dictate. World bosses once a week are a highlight still as the gear and gold are still worth it for such a minimal time commitment.

Hunter-alt leveling in Val'sharah

Hunter-alt leveling in Val’sharah

Star Wars the Old Republic

I’m mostly leveling my Imperial Agent now in SWTOR, without a guild in this game I’m unlikely to ever really get back into doing group content. The IA story is pretty awesome, at least in parts, I’m in chapter 2 at the moment and nearly done on the Taris world story.

agent1_taris1

Rift

Leveling through the Nightmare Tide expansion for the first time, still in the Goboro Reef zone – zones in this expansion are large! I’m rather enjoying the water-themed storyline, and am having fun this time around experimenting with builds on my cleric.

2017-01-17_222300

Lord of the Rings Online

I’m not really finding much time for LOTRO, annoying as I’d just found a new guild before Christmas, but then leveling alts through zones I know well isn’t doing it for me at present. I did have a really fun afternoon last weekend playing all three wings of the Great Barrow dungeon on my Runekeeper, his first go at healing! If I find other opportunities for group fun I’ll certainly pop back into the game again.  If not before I’ll be back in-game properly when the next update comes around.

screenshot00992b

Everquest 2

Another game that has fallen off the list, I played it pretty intensely before Christmas to get my second character levelled, so I think a bit of a break is needed. I kind of have SWTOR and EQ2 as a bit mutually exclusive in my gaming mix at the moment – I prefer to play both when I am subbed, so until my current SWTOR run ends, I’m not going to do much involved in EQ2, the new expansion will have to wait.

This entry was posted in EQ2, Gaming, LotRO, Rift, SWTOR, WoW. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gaming mix in early 2017

Comments are closed.