Rift: back to leveling

A few different things have inspired me to take a peak back into Rift once more. I logged back in recently to do some Instant Adventures and to try Intrepid Adventures (a raid version of the former). In the course of a few play sessions I got my Cleric from level 58 to 60 and finally, just over 2 years later, reached the next expansion: the Nightmare Tide.

2016-08-08_084535

I’d actually returned to the game three times last year, starting in January/February when we briefly played as a group of four through various leveling dungeons. That fun experience of the game kept niggling away at the back of my brain. I actually returned to Rift a total of three times last year albeit for brief stints. Mostly I wanted to level my main to 60 of course, but I also wanted to actually finish some of the storylines for Storm Legion. Not seeing the expansion’s story to its (open world) conclusion irked me somewhat. I’d done a good chunk of Morban and Steppes of Infinity in the most recent sessions and had found the natives’ stories of the horrors of fighting against the Plane of Death’s worst monstrosities rather compelling.

Dungeon fun

Dungeon fun

I ran out of story content with my character still at level 58 back in December, and ran out of leveling steam too, but reading about the Starfall Prophecy expansion since has inspired me once more to get back on with leveling. It’s not as though I’ve not had recent exposure to a slightly more “old school” leveling experience – EQ2 has that by the bucketload. This time though I stuck to public group content as the easy way to conquer that XP bar once and for all.

Hammerknell Intrepid Adventure

Hammerknell Intrepid Adventure

Instant Adventures are akin to a rollercoaster ride of randomised questing. You queue (usually for a few seconds literally) and then get teleported to a group of other players in a leveling zone (can be the base game or an expansion’s zone) with your level sync’ed appropriately. The Adventure then leads you through a series of randomised tasks, like any normal quest, with the odd “close this rift” thrown in for good measure. The grouping is chaotic and fast-paced as you might expect from public quest-style content. Group size varies but is usually a raid between 8 and 15 people, it varies a lot as people drop in and out throughout the Adventure’s duration.

Following the pack

Following the pack

Intrepid Adventures are somewhat different in that they take place inside one of two different raid dungeons. I’ve not experienced the raids in their original form but the system guides you through the raid somewhat with the teleport option from Instant Adventures to take you to the next section of the raid after each boss is killed. Again I’ve no idea how the difficulty levels compare but they are certainly more deadly than Instant Adventures – it’s easy to die to boss mechanics in Hammerknell if you’re as clueless as I am!

Goblin-slaying

Goblin slaying

The experience from both types of activity are good, I have my character at level 60 and have made a start on the Nightmare Tide expansion’s questing content – time to get wet!

2017-01-13_223136

 

This entry was posted in Gaming, Rift. Bookmark the permalink.