My favourite MMORPGs – IntPiPoMo 2016 (1)

As the first in a series of posts for the 2016 version of International Picture Posting Month, I’m posting pictures here that capture aspects of my favourite MMORPGs, illustrating in “a picture is worth a thousand words” way why I love them. It’s a bit of a random list, I’m trying here to pick up on aspects of games that differentiate them from the others in my mind.

1. World of Warcraft – dungeon fun

wowscrnshot_011308_213620

Although questing has always been a major part of my World of Warcraft experiences, the 5-person dungeon was really what dominated my playtime throughout the years. The shared laughs, frustrations and surprises while running the game’s many dungeons are treasured memories.

2. World of Warcraft – art style

wowscrnshot_103016_220532

I’m a big fan of World of Warcraft’s art style, I think it has stood the test of time extremely well. This is particularly true of the excellent character designs and animations.

3) Lord of the Rings Online – landscapes

screenshot00756

Continuing on the theme of artwork, in Lord of the Rings Online, I particularly appreciate the landscapes – the beautiful nature of Middle Earth that surrounds our characters as we travel.

4) Lord of the Rings Online – the details

screenshot00143

The details of the world in Lord of the Rings Online can be so loving rendered in the game – the tapestries in buildings in Rohan are particularly impressive.

5) Everquest 2 – all the extra systems

eq2_000406b

Everquest 2 has wonderful complexity in its many systems, even little things like languages. Humanoid opponents spout apparent gobbledygook phrases at you, until that is you have completed the necessary steps to learn that language at which point you can then understand the same phrases as insults, expressions of indignation or cries of despair.

6) Everquest 2 – not so obvious

eq2_000397

From my limited experiences of the game, there seems to be a lot more thought required in the game (if you don’t always use a wiki-guide). Take this door to a small instance I wanted to run for a quest – the door has no handle. So I had to go defeat certain guardians nearby on a timer before entry was possible. It wasn’t hard on this character but it’s nice the developers take the time to go beyond “kill 10 rats” so often.

7) The Secret World – non-player characters

ebrayn-2016-03-27-16-02-09

The quest-givers in The Secret World are a marvellous bunch of wacky but well-developed personalities. We see them only in brief little vignette videos but these videos ooze quality and imagination.

8) Star Wars The Old Republic – hardware

hsquad6

SWTOR, as one of the few SciFi MMORPGs that I’ve played extensively, has always fulfilled my childhood love of Spaceships, droids (aka robots) and big laser guns.

9) Dungeons & Dragons Online – customisation

screenshot00043

For me, DDO has the best character customisation/development system of any MMORPG I’ve ever played. It’s pretty complex yet the game offers an elegant series of default paths to follow if you just want to get on with dungeoneering.

10) Wildstar – graphics

damodal_eskarri-161011-180152

Wildstar does have slick graphics, but for me the most appealing aspect is the heavy dose of whimsy in the art-design. Things like this snarfelynx mount make me smile so often whenever I play.

IntPiPoMo 2016 picture count: 10/50

This entry was posted in DDO, EQ2, Gaming, LotRO, SWTOR, TSW, Wildstar, WoW. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My favourite MMORPGs – IntPiPoMo 2016 (1)

  1. Pingback: Nearly IntPiPoMo time | GamingSF

Comments are closed.