WoW: Suramar, a repeat visit

Having completed the main quest chain in Suramar, Legion’s end-game zone, I was slightly concerned I would find the reputation grind and densely packed nature of the city a turn-off for bringing alt characters through that content. So far on my second character to enter the city it doesn’t seem to be quite as involved as it first appeared.

Once more to the masquerade!

Once more to the masquerade!

I suppose the main difference comparing the first run through with the second, is that we’re being a lot more focused on main story progression and getting the important upgrades for the Shal’aran base. So it’s a pared-down slightly more minimalist version of Suramar compared to the “do all the things” first run through.

A quicker, more focused run through

A quicker, more focused run through

That’s not to say on this second foray into the Nightfallen city that there aren’t any little hidden surprises still waiting for me to discover. I’m still finding the odd treasure chest that my main character didn’t open, or the odd side quest that he hasn’t done. I think there’s a benefit in not being too deliberately completionist on a character, if you like to play alts, since it means there’s always something new to do on repeat playthroughs. The quest content for gathering and crafting professions can help a little bit here as well – it’s nice to have this very specific content available in the game.

I doubt I’ll be in a hurry to bring a third character through the city, however. There is new content I believe in today’s patch 7.1 for me to dig into, and in any case repeating the same content on alts in quick succession isn’t that appealing.

This entry was posted in Gaming, WoW. Bookmark the permalink.