WoW: jewelcrafting mini-game weirdness

So I’ve accumulated three different items with a prismatic gem slot on my Druid main in World or Warcraft, and this finally prompted me to star work on my Mage’s jewelcrafting profession.

Time to learn some new recipes!

Time to learn some new recipes!

As part of an early quest you get to do a mini-game of sorts to cut the gemstone into a polished gem ready for use. It’s a kind of bizarre addition to a MMO that does not do mini-games for crafting.

???

???

I’m used to crafting mini-games mind, since Everquest 2 has them in spades and Final Fantasy 14 also boasts more interactive crafting than the “click and wait” standard of most games in the genre. What was weird about this mini-game was the lack of actual gameplay involved – it was just a lot of clicking and some rotating basically. I wonder whether some developer with a penchant for the jewelcrafting profession pushed this? Do any other professions have something similar in Legion?

This entry was posted in EQ2, FFXIV, Gaming, WoW. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WoW: jewelcrafting mini-game weirdness

  1. coppertopper says:

    Just so you know the only time you do this is in the quest. At no time in the profession steps is this clicker time waster a part of jewel crafting (thankfully). As flavor to the quest – eh it’s ok I guess.

Comments are closed.