SWTOR: do you swap companions for dialogues?

I was playing SWTOR last night with my husband and I was in a bit of a dilemma over which companion to have out. Our Jedi pair (my Knight and his Consular) are now bravely fighting for the Republic on the planet Voss. Quick spoiler warning: I’ll mention a later companion and some vague class story stuff below so stop reading if you haven’t played a Jedi Knight yet, but intend to do so!

Screenshot_2016-06-15_20_29_00_859709

While playing through my class missions thus far (just done the Shrine of Healing area), I was contemplating whether I’d be better to have Lord Scourge out instead of my usual choice of Teeseven. Since we’re dealing on the planet with certain Sith opponents, I do wonder whether I’ll miss out on some random comments from Scourge if I stick to my usual droid.

Screenshot_2016-06-15_20_48_41_558919

I had Lord Scourge out for most of Belsavis, our previous planet, and he made quite a few remarks both when entering areas and during cut-scene conversations. I could probably imagine situations where other companions might also say something interesting but the storyline here is so tied up with Sith-stuff that he seems the obvious companion to have out. But when I use him I miss Teeseven’s bright optimism so I usually give in and re-summon the little droid.

Dreamscape droid

Dreamscape droid

Do you stick to favoured companions or do you mix and match according to the zone or conversation at hand?

This entry was posted in Gaming, SWTOR. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SWTOR: do you swap companions for dialogues?

  1. Clay says:

    I have favored ones. For my Warrior, its VETTE! For my Consular, Nadia. When I was playing my smuggler…I disliked them all bleh lol

  2. I just switched last night. My Sith was going for Broonie to build up his kill score on Belsavis but Jaesa and Vette are favs. Got to a part I felt Jaesa was right for…met a Jedi behind a door…and when I went back sure enough, he addressed Jaesa. Doubt he’d have had a reason to chat with Broonie.

  3. I mostly stick to whichever character I like best, but sometimes I’ll swap them out based on what situations I’m in. When playing my warrior recently, I swapped out Vette for Jaesa while playing on Voss. All the Force mysticism seemed like a better fit for her than Vette.

  4. Shintar says:

    I mostly stick to the same companion, trying to find one that my character gets along with so lots of influence is gained from the conversations. 😉 But if I make an alt of the same class, I then try to use a different companion – one more way to give alt playthroughs a different flavour.

Comments are closed.