Wildstar: to skip on or complete Farside?

A perennial problem with modern MMORPGs is that of out-leveling content. My Engineer main character in Wildstar is now level 34 and has just received a quest to go to Wilderrun; the welcome page as I login also suggests I go check out that zone as well.

Damodal_Eskarri.160601.165127

The problem is I’ve just arrived at the Fatalis Fields section of the Farside zone and I still have a good chunk to do beyond just the zone main story: map locations to open, Eldan cube recordings to listen to and scientist missions to complete.

Hostile Tech: scientist missions to complete!

Hostile Tech: scientist missions to complete!

Rushing past peripheral content in an MMO is nothing new to me these days; in SWTOR I power-levelled one character (my Trooper) via the “12x bonus” last year just playing his class missions and then insta-dinged a Jedi Shadow to 60 to play the Knights of the Fallen Empire expansion.  But this is still my first playthrough of Wildstar so everything in front of my Engineer is new stuff waiting to be explored.

Damodal_Eskarri.160601.170515

I’m sure if I level more characters through to the cap then I’ll want some variation of levelling zones to stave off that feeling of deja vu. So skipping some content now will help me to keep levelling fresh in the future. I distinctly remember, many years ago, planning which path of zones I’d use to level different alts in World of Warcraft. There are a few priorities I do want to do on this first character:

  1. Experience the revamped “World Story” as much as possible
  2. Max out Scientist
  3. Collect all the Eldan cubes I can easily reach

I’m not that fussed on experiencing all the little side-stories and ‘tasks’ that fill the zones – clearly it’s more content than I need to do to level. So I guess I’ll try to finish off my Scientist duties and then jump on to Wilderrun for the next adventure!

This entry was posted in Gaming, Wildstar. Bookmark the permalink.