Fun vs goals

I’ve found my gaming priorities derailed the last week or two, I had intended to try to get my poor champion to the level cap in LOTRO before it rises yet again but that’s a bust as Update 18 is due to launch today (delayed by one day).

Then without any forethought I ended up subscribing back to WoW via a Token to be able to play that game with visiting family four evenings straight.That’s been a blast, I have a lot of characters that could do with pushing up to 100 (from low 90s) ready for Legion and the possibility to use the Legion pre-order instant 100 to prep a class that I’ve rarely played (mage?) for the next expansion.

I read last night that a close friend has started playing Black Desert Online, which coupled with spending money for my birthday is enough to break my last attempts at resisting giving that a try too. I guess in the end it’s all about enjoyment, shared experiences and having some fun. Online gaming is a great hobby; it can connect you to people you don’t see so often or introduce you to really nice people from a wide variety of places and backgrounds.

When I was thinking about trading gameplay back a few weeks, I gave Archeage a brief but intensive try, and despite liking the systems, classes and general gameplay, I was struck by that sense of “having missed the boat” and not seeing much activity in low-level areas. At least if I try Black Desert Online now, relatively close to launch, I guess it is pretty busy everywhere? Although I try to set goals and have some kind of organised plan to my gaming, sometimes it’s worth just going with flow…

This entry was posted in Gaming, LotRO, WoW. Bookmark the permalink.