SWTOR: Trooper tidying up

My last couple of sessions of SWTOR involved quite a lot of tidying up on my Trooper. I power leveled this character over the summer using the 12x experience boost. He’s sat at level 60 now ready to start the Knights of the Fallen Empire content but before starting the expansion storyline you are warned to finish off any companion missions or other content as there is no going back. Since this character was leveled the speedy way, I’d done very little with the companions. I spent the best part of one session going through conversations with all the companions to unlock them for my legacy.

A ship full of conversations

A ship full of conversations

Having done all that I spent some time tidying up inventory but I happened to notice that I had one companion bonus not unlocked, Aric Jordan’s. It was only then that I realised I hadn’t done that mission on Nar Shaddaa that stopped my conversation with him. Popping over to Nar Shaddaa to run a prison break with Aric I appreciated the new auto level-sync in the 1-50 planetary zones.

Back on Nar Shaddaa

Back on Nar Shaddaa

Although this is a controversial feature for some, I’m a fan of making content relevant for characters that have outpaced it – I think it worked very well in Guild Wars 2 and it’s nice to see the same idea implemented in SWTOR. As I travelled around the zones I actually had to pay attention to hostile creatures and to on occasion fight my way to an objective.

WTB stealth

WTB stealth

I also saw this feature in action running an Alliance mission on my Shadow main, he by coincidence also ended up on Nar Shaddaa so I was navigating the same areas on both characters. The experience was somewhat different on my Shadow since he can easily stealth his way past ‘inconveniently’ positioned mobs.

The recent changes to the game seem to have doubly enhanced the value of the original planets – this is really positive I think, it’s great to see other player characters of all levels out doing content. It’s a much better use of existing assets than I see in other comparable MMORPGs.

This entry was posted in Gaming, SWTOR. Bookmark the permalink.