Favourite MMO Locales – IntPiPoMo 2015 (3)

This post is somewhat delayed so I’m going to have to cram several IntPiPoMo posts into the remaining week and a bit of November in order to hit my target of 50 pictures. For this third post I’m showcasing some of my favourite MMO locales, places in these virtual worlds that I found strikingly beautiful, memorable or otherwise extraordinary. There are twelves images representing these locales after the cut.

The Deeprun Tram, WoWWoWScrnShot_100111_231155
The Deeprun Tram, running between Stormwind and Ironforge blew my mind when I first started playing WoW. It spoke of the grandeur and wonder of a deeply detailed virtual world. It also harks back to a time when travel was more onerous and more social than the modern era of flight almost everywhere all of the time.

Zul’Drak, World of Warcraft

WoWScrnShot_040310_174047

This zone in the Northrend continent was my favourite zone in the Wrath of the Lich King expansion. It’s rich pickings for Troll lore and has the evident threat of the scourge in the two brooding Necropoleis floating above it.

 

Celondim, LOTROScreenShot00189

Celondim and its surroundings is the starter zone for Elven characters. I’ve always found the area serene yet tinged with the sadness of the people living there. Most blogposts I have read about the starter zones seem to prefer the Shire but I have a particular fondness for the mountains of Ered Luin.

Isenguard, LOTROScreenShot01130b

This particular section of the epic main storyline in LOTRO is set in the citadel of Isenguard, home of Saruman the Wizard. The quests are very memorable and told from a totally different perspective than the usual “hero of the story” trope of MMORPGs.

Taris, SWTORScreenshot_2015-07-12_11_11_00_472259

Taris offers a contrast to the civilised city-worlds like Coruscant or Nar Shaddaa. It’s a planet where nature has taken back over. The broken hulks of the once towering buildings offer some exploration fun for interesting vistas. It also has some wonderful nods to the KOTOR games.

Alderaan, SWTORScreenshot_2014-02-16_15_36_20_191771

Despite the civil war brewing among the nobility, I do find Alderaan a nice change of pace in SWTOR since it’s a beautiful, mountainous world with little of the signs of devastation from the galactic war visible on other worlds. As a bonus you get to fly between mission zones on giant manta-like Thranta.

Atlantic Island Park, Savage Coast, The Secret WorldEbrayn-2014-10-08-19-24-41

There were many possibilities for this entry from The Secret World but this ultra-creepy  Amusement Park in Savage Coast is possibly the most atmospheric location I’ve ever come across in any MMO.

Metrica Province, Guild Wars 2gw018

Since my favourite race in Guild Wars 2 is the Asura, it follows that I have particularly fond memories of early play sessions in the Metrica Province starter zone. It was very exciting to explore and the architecture and zone design was so detailed and intricate.

Labyrinthine Cliffs, Guild Wars 2gw269

Back in July 2013, the Bazaar of the Four Winds appeared in Guild Wars 2 offering a new zone full of exploration, collection activities and some combat events. It was an aching beautiful zone which I thoroughly enjoyed despite the emphasis on jumping challenges.

La Noscea, Final Fantasy 14ffxiv_10042015_221120

The weather and daylight/night cycles in Final Fantasy 14 are particularly impressive. Although my character is loyal to Uldah and a member of the Immortal Flames, I have a soft spot for the coastal region of La Noscea because I love the seaside/piratical themes of the region and because the sunsets here just can’t be beat.

Algoroc, WildstarDamodal_Eskarri.150601.202655

Of the Wildstar zones I’ve played through Algoroc, with its Wild West frontier vibe is my favourite. It also features an impressive gigantic Eldan robot set piece finale that’s hard to beat!

Lakkar’s Axe, Neverwinter screenshot_2014-07-21-20-54-56
The Icespire Peaks are a generally impressive mountain zone in this game but they are particularly memorable for the giant’s axe that is now used as a bridge to cross a ravine.

This is the lot, many were tough choices but it’s hopefully some good illustrations of the many wonderful locales our virtual selves can visit.

This entry was posted in FFXIV, Gaming, Guild Wars, LotRO, Neverwinter, SWTOR, TSW, Wildstar, WoW. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Favourite MMO Locales – IntPiPoMo 2015 (3)

  1. Pingback: #IntPiPoMo 2015 | GamingSF

  2. WoW’s Storm Peaks remains my all-time favourite MMO zone. I love Norse mythology, and winter is my favourite time of year, so…

    I can still remember standing on the cliffs at the top of the Snowdrift Plains and really feeling like I had come to the edge of the world. It’s so hauntingly lonely and desolate.

    I also have a lot of love for Kingsmouth Town and the Blue Mountain in TSW, as well as WoW’s Howling Fjord, Icecrown, Dragonblight, Grizzly Hills (nearly all of Northrend, really), Kun-Lai Summit, Townlong Steppes, Silverpine Forest, Mount Hyjal, Vashj’ir…

    And while my interest in GW2 has all but evaporated these days, I will say Ascalon remains one of the most beautiful regions I’ve seen in a video game.

  3. pkudude99 says:

    Have you tried “The Park” from Funcom that’s set in the TSW amusement park?

Comments are closed.