WoW: Legion, back to Boomkin!?

For the first two or so years of my time playing World of Warcraft, I was playing a Balance druid (a k a Moonkin or Boomkin) as my main character. I posted a while ago about how I had loved playing this particular class/spec and how Blizzard’s many class revamps had turned me off playing the character over the years.

WoWScrnShot_082515_211846

Although I have leveled many other characters and eventually swapped to Shaman as a main I really always loved this character and its fluffy, “over-sized owl” form.

Somehow eclipse mark 3.0 in the Draenor expansion was *even* worse than the first two iterations...

Somehow eclipse mark 3.0 in the Draenor expansion was *even* worse than the first two iterations…

So it was with great pleasure that I read the recently published Druid class preview for the upcoming Legion expansion:

Balance Druids have had a variety of cyclical rotations over the years. The core design problem in all of these cycles is that they’ve forced players into watching closely for UI cues and casting spells in largely predetermined orders. The Legion design is focused on providing a flexible combat experience, where you can use abilities as you’d like, and each has a specific purpose. The Eclipse Bar has been completely replaced by an Astral Power resource, which is built and spent, and provides a platform for abilities to create interesting, engaging, and powerful effects.

That quote addresses the problem I’ve had with Balance druids since the eclipse mechanic first appeared – forcing players to play spells in some predetermined manner. I really hope this new version of the spec will bring back the flexibility that I so enjoyed before!

*dances with joy*

*dances with joy*

This entry was posted in Gaming, WoW. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WoW: Legion, back to Boomkin!?

  1. kaozz says:

    I was very intrigued with the changes as well. I went feral this expansion, but balance is looking really nice. Ugh, now the wait begins, Lol.

  2. Meznir says:

    And updated models! Woots!

Comments are closed.