SWTOR: mains vs alts, level 55-60 content

In the flurry of updates and expansions this October I’d lost focus on SWTOR somewhat. The last few weeks I’ve been too busy with World of Warcraft, Wildstar and Shadowrun Chronicles. But over the weekend I was reading some first impression pieces for Knights of the Fallen Empire and I realised I actually am eligible for access to the expansion content. Well eligible from an account perspective, not so much from a character level viewpoint…

Level 55 Sage

Level 55 Sage


My Jedi Sage and my Commando are both sat at level 55 having completed the class stories and Makeb. But I didn’t ever purchase the Shadows of Revan expansion so, up until the opening of the KotFE early-access, I didn’t have access to level 55-60 zones or missions. As I logged into my characters to find a storm of equipment laden messages and new notifications, I realised I’d be spending an indeterminate amount of time levelling from 55 to 60 before I got to see the new stuff. I had a strong déjà vu feeling with that realisation; it was our Heavensward situation all over again. In that case we ended up giving up entirely because being a ton of mandatory quests behind all our overly-excited guildmates as they chatted about all the new Heavensward zones and dungeons was very demotivating.

Manaan story instance

Manaan story instance

Checking my two highest characters, I’d done the two “planetary raid” flashpoints on my Sage but not on my Trooper. So I did push on with my Sage to Manaan and run that instanced content there. By the end of the session I was feeling unhappy though, the content was good and I was enjoying playing the class again but I felt rushed by my own desire to “just hit 60 already”. It wasn’t fair to my character or the story to headlong rush through it just to get to KotFE. As a side note the companion changes and stat changes have made a significant difference it seems to the difficulty of this content. I remember having some issues even with the GFI droid in the two flashpoints, probably because Qyzen and my Sage were poorly geared for the level of content. Now in Manaan everything melted with Qyzen or my Sage’s health barely dropping below 95%. Even boss fights were no challenge. It’s probably similar to the issues WoW now faces, all the levelling content, including dungeons, are faceroll-easy since the stat squish.

Recreating my Togruta

Recreating my Togruta

I did notice the “create level 60” option at character selection but I couldn’t find a way to ding one of my two highest characters to 60. That was my mistaken assumption from months ago; I thought I’d just ding my Trooper past Revan content to be able to explore the new story-focused expansion. It’s was quite a dilemma. I didn’t want to delete either character, and I certainly didn’t want to ding a new Smuggler or Knight to 60 thus skipping and probably spoiling the two Republic-side class stories I haven’t finished. Thankfully inspiration hit the next day as I’d created a second Togruta Knight but wasn’t feeling that motivated to play him – what I actually have done is recreate him as a new Jedi Shadow stealth-tank Consular. I’ve done the Consular story to 50 and the Shadow will be very different to play I imagine.

Stealthy Jedi ninja time!

Stealthy Jedi ninja time!

This entry was posted in Gaming, SWTOR. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SWTOR: mains vs alts, level 55-60 content

  1. Shintar says:

    I think you weren’t the only one disappointed that you can’t use the level 60 boost to level an existing character, but I think it was necessary due to the nature of the game. There are references to previous events in the new story, and I guess they either needed you to have completed it all so the game knows where you stand, or be a completely blank slate so they can insert whatever template they have for that. I can barely imagine how horribly complicated it would have been to “fill in the gaps” for characters that could be levelled up from any point in the game while making sure that no contradictions arose…

    Anyway, I’m curious to see how you get on with the fresh level 60!

Comments are closed.