SWTOR: Togruta time!

Patch 3.3 for Star Wars the Old Republic did kind of sneak up on me. I’d not been following the game particularly for a while, until the big news of the Fallen Empire expansion just over a month ago rekindled my interest. In the shadow of that news, the arrival of a new species in patch 3.3 almost slipped by me completely.

Time for a new Knight

Time for a new Knight

I am certainly interested in new playable race (I use the fantasy rpg trope of race = species here) being added to an established MMORPG, although I count it as less of a ‘content’ addition than a new class since it offers less of a different playing experience. When World of Warcraft added new classes it was usually enough to inspire some of my regular group to roll a new alt and often would even inspire a new leveling group for a time. Beyond any new racial starter zones (which SWTOR doesn’t have anyway), the main interest in any new race option is more of a roleplay or aesthetical desire to have a new race/class combination for a character.

Screenshot_2015-07-22_17_17_40_572643

Togruta racial emote is fire-side storytelling

It helps that this time, unlike with the Cathar back in May 2013, the new race is the better-known and rather striking Togruta (Wookiepedia info). I really like the Togruta race and was always happy to see a Togruta NPC pop-up on occasion. I’ve created a new Jedi Knight to lock in my choice of name for a Togruta character, but I won’t be playing him just yet – I’m too busy leveling my Trooper for that. I do look forward to leveling him next though as a second, more melee-oriented Jedi character. I think I’ll wait for the “Togruta invasion” to die down a little – I happened to logon during the first day of the patch going live and Tython was heaving with new Togruta Jedi characters, easily 95%+ of the zone’s characters were of the new race.

M1 is the *only* companion for this Trooper

M1 is the *only* companion for this Trooper

Thinking about race unlocks and what might come next reminded me that I even voted for Togruta as my number one choice in a forum poll on new races back in 2012. To be honest I’d completely forgotten that I’d even chosen a Togruta thumbnail picture as my forum avatar back then! My next favourite, the Ithorians, got a paltry 83 compared to a winning 533 votes for Togruta so I won’t hold out any hopes for Ithorians being added any time soon. The only other new race to be added so far was the Cathar back in May 2013 (Patch 2.1 info courtesy of SWTOR Commando), I wonder what will be next?

This entry was posted in Gaming, SWTOR. Bookmark the permalink.