A first impression of Wildstar’s housing

I’ve passed the level 14 goalpost for unlocking housing in my current run in Wildstar. So far I’ve tried to stick to follow zone stories linearly and not to get too sidetracked by all the other stuff (climbing mountains, gathering, crafting etc).

A blank canvas

A blank canvas

The housing however was a big-ticket item I wanted to get to so as soon as I dinged 14 I took a taxi to the Exile capital of Thayd to get my house key. I’d picked up a few house items already, just some random junk. The tutorial didn’t do a great job of taking me through the housing interface, unusual for the game as generally the tutorials are clear enough. You have to click on several of the housing customisation menu options in turn (see the bar floating near top of the screenshot above) to progress the housing tutorial mission. It’s important to progress this as you get some free decoration items at the end of it.

Human house it is

Human house it is

Of the three starter house styles available for Exiles I went with the human ‘tower’. It’s a shame there wasn’t a creepy Mordesh option but then I’m not familiar enough with the racial lore to know if that fits in. Once the house was down I dumped everything I had decoration-wise. I’m not that into micro-management of decorations, housing in MMORPGs are like display-cabinets for me – a place to show off memorabilia.

Shades of Halfhill

Shades of Halfhill

I chose to buy a farm FABkit from the vendor for one of the empty side plots. That now allows me to plant all those dozens of seeds I’ve gathered as a consequence of looking for plant parts for technologist recipes. The benefit is extra free materials for crafting. The plants grow in twenty minutes, but for now I’m sticking to planting at the start and end of each session. This could easily stray deeply into ‘needy MMO’ territory if I got too obsessed with maximising my farming yields or added other gathering nodes on the empty plots!

At first glance the housing system is pretty interesting. It’s also a major convenience: I have an extra teleport to a rest area where I can access a vendor to sell all the junk I’ve gathered and there’s a notice board thingy that gives one of three long-lasting buffs for XP should I want it. I’ve read there are many more features still to be seen, including activities and challenges. For now I’d rather just place any decor or FABkits that I find at random out in the world than start the wiki-reading and spoil all the potential surprises.

This entry was posted in Gaming, Wildstar. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A first impression of Wildstar’s housing

  1. Don’t forget to wander other people’s plots, too! Some will make your jaw drop!

Comments are closed.