Disturbia

There’s been a lot of toxicity online of late, disturbing headlines of truly atrocious verbal/written attacks by ‘gamers’ against female journalists. This is deplorable of course and makes me rethink my answer to the recent gaming questionnaire where I answered yes to identifying as a gamer. Who in their right mind would want to be lumped in the same group with the neanderthals spouting this hate? Syl has an excellent post explaining a rather deep, plausible motivation behind some of these attacks.

But then its nothing new. I’ve turned off general chat in a dozen MMOs because in most of them it is usually too toxic for my personal standards. I just do not accept ‘gamer bro‘ style dialogue as being something I want to see on my screen during an average session.

There’s little I can personally add to this debate, but when developers pander to this demography I find myself questioning my desire to play their game. Example one would be Tera as a whole, the ‘candyfloss’ armour really is a step too far for my tastes even if there are equally sexualised male armours as well and that doesn’t even begin to address the whole Elin fetish talk you’d see randomly in chat (or in guild chat even).

Then I saw this during the recent FFXIV anniversary festival…

ffxiv_17082014_111144

This quest had you putting out pillars of fire by having a lizard spit gouts of water at them. All of the pillars had three identical scantilly-clad female Miqo’te (cat-women) stood nearby who upon being splashed announced phrases about getting wet. Honestly the quest made me feel rather queasy with such blatant misogyny and this was before the recent controversy broke. It’s frickin’ 2014, why is this stuff even in a supposedly broad-audience MMO?

This entry was posted in FFXIV, Gaming, Tera. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Disturbia

  1. pkudude99 says:

    In the case of FFXIV, it’s probably a remnant of Japanese culture in it that didn’t get “westernized” out. I’ve never been there to know 1st hand, but I’m told that in Japanese culture women are seen almost as furniture, and this is what you’re seeing in that quest there.

    • Telwyn says:

      True enough perhaps on the cultural note, but for a game that is relatively progressive in some ways (marriage for everyone, not too offensive female clothing that I’ve seen so far) it was rather shocking.

  2. tsuhelm says:

    For a franchise that did FFX-1&2 how this got through amazes me…

    I am with you on the chat being juvenile most of the time but have to say less so as the years have progressed…or my own internal filters are noticing it less.

    I am still a ‘GAMER’ but my kind of gamer, I don’t really care how I am typecast by others. It is a shame that some other ‘GAMERS’ are idiots, I am just glad that so many of them are so intelligent these days!

    • Telwyn says:

      Actually I haven’t found general chat in FFXIV to be that bad compared to other MMOs, the chat remark in my post was about Tera – that game took it to new levels of *low*.

  3. Hafsah says:

    This disgusts me beyond reason. One would think in today’s age, things would be a little different, but no! I was just talking to a friend of mine about the stereotyping that plays a big part in how females are seen in the gaming world.

    I’m a new gaming blogger, and I just stumbled upon your blog while doing some hunting around. I love your view on things, so I’ll be stopping by more often!

    Happy gaming 🙂

  4. Syl says:

    We are getting there, slowly. 🙂 but we are getting there.

Comments are closed.