Neverwinter: Dread Ring (& Sharandar) adventures

The big Neverwinter news this week is the launch of Module 3 set in Icewind Dale. Since coming back from holiday my partner and I have dinged our duo (my cleric and his wizard) to the level 60 cap.

Level 60 heroes deserve a party!

Level 60 heroes deserve a party!

Since our characters are fresh level 60s the next step is to do one of the existing campaigns, Sharandar or Dread Ring. The new Icewind Dale campaign has prerequisites our characters do not meet (to have a minimum of three boons from either earlier campaign and a gearscore of 10000). I’ve played most of the Sharandar content on my solo wizard, so was keen to try the Dread Ring campaign this time for variety’s sake.

Should we be this close to something called a "sphere of annihilation"...?

Should we be this close to something called a “sphere of annihilation”…?

So far it all seems nicely tied into the earlier lore of the main campaign, for instance the prominent heroes from the game’s trailer video feature in this zone’s storyline. The campaign is advanced in a similar manner to Sharandar – collect tokens from dailies to complete campaign tasks that unlock further stages of content. It’s a slightly grindy but familiar formula for staggered PVE content – similar to the Isle of Thunder in WoW if you have played that.

A story dungeon (Lair) run, this time with bonus Astral chest loot!

A story dungeon (Lair) run, this time with bonus Astral chest loot!

I’m happy to repeat dailies and story dungeons in moderation, the number of repetitions to advance isn’t particularly onerous compared to other MMOs’ defintion of endgame ‘grind’. It’s worth it for the story unlocks and the character progression alone. My wizard has the three boons but not the gearscore to start on Icewind Dale. At this stage the easiest option for him is to continue the Sharandar campaign. So it’s back to the familiar dailies in order to buy the full set of tier armour via tokens. He’s pretty close at ~9500 so it won’t take long. Reading up a guide about the best rewards to take from the campaign I noticed that the blink dog companion is a possible reward from the Tower of Celadaine story dungeon. I’ve done this only once before as the story dungeons do not award the primary gear-related currency (gold crescents) so they are entirely optional. Imagine my surprise when the dog dropped on next run through!

Blink dog present for my cleric

Blink dog present for my cleric

This entry was posted in Gaming, Neverwinter. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Neverwinter: Dread Ring (& Sharandar) adventures

  1. Ack! So jealous with the blink dog – congrats! 😀 I must have run Celadaine’s tower over 50 times and still not got him.

    • Telwyn says:

      Thanks. I almost prefaced this announcement with the note that I’m usually super unlucky with companion drops – I’ve run several of the call to arms all weekend and still missed out on the companion. Very happy to roll that natural 20 for once!

Comments are closed.