Avoiding combat

Sometimes when I quest in MMOs I like to avoid combat if the quest doesn’t call for it. Maybe I’m just going from A to B on the map with a message or delivery. Ploughing the direct line between A and B, slaying all that stands in my way is one option. But I often prefer to run or ride around things, going to extremes to find a hill or ledge to ‘sneak’ past opponents.

Convenient river = swim past all the angry villagers...

Convenient river = swim past all the angry villagers…

This goes beyond not riding through mobs when travelling. It’s also about watching a camp of orcs and seeing which patrol so you can reduce your kill count, or looking for different entrances to pick the quickest route to your quest objective.

Strangely despite liking this gameplay I’ve never actually stuck to playing a character with stealth skills for very long…

This entry was posted in Gaming, LotRO. Bookmark the permalink.