Accidental admin rights

I’ve just read the news story that Darkfall players logged back in after a major patch to find they all had (briefly) been granted admin rights or at least the appearance thereof. All was quickly fixed / downplayed by the devs of course. I can’t imagine how stressful such errors must be for the team involved. I worked in systems admin for years and big projects like launching a new website can be nightmarish if anything goes wrong (and it always does).

God-mode of the legal kind.

God-mode of the legal kind.

Of course some MMOs do give you near deity-level power deliberately – LOTROs inspiration buff (above) or EQ2s mercenaries (in lower levels) both fit this bill. But from the player perspective I can’t say I’d be tempted to abuse accidentally granted admin rights … well, perhaps grant myself immunity to dismounting and ride around cackling madly for a while?

This entry was posted in EQ2, Gaming, LotRO. Bookmark the permalink.