Yesterday (Friday) I was contemplating the new beta phase of Final Fantasy XIV, which started at 9:00am (seriously, do they think all the beta testers are unemployed or at school?).
Writing this over breakfast I was reading the FAQ for the beta with the mention of a character ‘wipe’ that will occur when beta phase 3 ends and beta phase 4 begins (I don’t know when this will occur). That had me worried for a while; what if my version 1.0 character falls victim to the character wipe? That would really upset me for some reason despite the fact I didn’t get that far into the game at launch. Part of why I want to come back to the game is to carry on with this character! This is just semantics of course, but to me a character wipe sounds like you’d lose the character completely (which will be the case I guess for new characters made during the current beta phase).
I had a look on the Beta forums and thankfully found a clarification that offers me hope (Checking the details of the NDA, it appears I can freely quote from the FAQ in phase 3)
Character data from FFXIV Version 1.0 will be transferred and implemented in phase 3 in order to test the porting process. After fixing bugs that occur, we will wipe imported character data. This character data will be transferred and officially implemented in phase 4 of the beta test.
Source of this quote is the North American beta FAQ (beta login required to see this on the beta forums). Perhaps I’m misreading that but it does sound to me like my version 1.0 character will be re-imported in his time-frozen state from the end of version 1.0 for phase 4 of the beta. It’s good news for motivation to play the game, but I’m not a fan of repeating content on the same character. This leaves me tempted to hold off until phase 4 before giving the game a proper go …