Neverwinter: swapping characters *without* logging off

As I’ve been crafting on my cleric main and leveling my wizard alt I’ve found it very annoying that swapping characters using the Esc menu option means logging back in with my password each time.

This tip from the forums gives a solution, albeit a somewhat obscure one. The ‘console’ command ‘/gotocharacterselect’  will take you back to the character select screen BUT if you click ‘Exit Now’ instead of waiting for the countdown then you’ll be forced to login again!

This is something Cryptic need to fix, it’s a bit of a mess at the moment and very alt unfriendly!

This entry was posted in Gaming, Neverwinter. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Neverwinter: swapping characters *without* logging off

  1. pkudude99 says:

    Yup. Extremely annoying. I liked EQ2’s “/camp ” command that logged you out of the current character and to your alt without even touching the login screen. Granted you still had to wait for the logout timer, but it was a lot faster than logging to the selection screen, finding the alt in the menu and then re-logging.

    • Telwyn says:

      It’s a pretty basic issue, though technically they still say they’re in “beta”. I’ve never had to actually log in (username/password) every time I wanted to swap alts before!

      So in EQ2 you mean camping to a different character explicitly? The logout menu options include “camp to character select” or “camp to desktop”, but I never realised you could camp to a different character if that is possible!

  2. Heck in EQII you could camp and log in to a specific character it has been a while I think it was /camp

Comments are closed.