Feeling creative and UGC

Last night I was feeling that creative itch so rather than gaming I decided to spend the time writing an adventure for pen and paper roleplaying. I get this every so often and usually find writing an adventure or two meets that need.

Of course in theory I could equally have been creating a module in Neverwinter’s Foundry user generated content (UGC) toolset. However having briefly played around with it, there is a lot of learning to be done before I feel remotely comfortable with it. I have an IT background so I’m used to learning new software from scratch, that’s not the problem. The issue, one I found with the original Neverwinter Nights as well, is that you end up spending a lot of time just dealing with the foibles of the toolset, and working out how to translate ideas into a working form in that toolset.

When I write a pen and paper RPG module I generally spend the bulk of time on story, challenges and fleshing out descriptions. With a toolset for UGC the longest time seems to be spent on simply “dressing the stage” – you have to do the visual layout in a lot more detail than a simple sketch on squared paper.

Last night however I decided to draw out a location map using Libre Office’s Drawing program. It was a ‘function over form’ Sci-Fi station I was mapping out so the grid was helpful enough as most rooms were regular shapes.  However it still took a very long time to do this using software. I could have drawn the map and scanned it in *much* less time.

So far I’ve hesitated in creating a module in the new Neverwinter, not because I’m not interested. Rather it’s because I know that even with growing knowledge of the toolset it just takes so much longer to create something playable than it does using simple pen and paper.

This entry was posted in Gaming, Neverwinter. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Feeling creative and UGC

  1. trivialpunk says:

    I’ve nominated you for the Sunshine Blogger Award, because you’re awesome! Check out the details here: http://trivialpunk.wordpress.com/2013/06/04/sunshine-blagger-aword/

    Feel free to delete this unrelated comment after you read it. It has done its job :3

Comments are closed.