‘Needy’ MMOs

Do you like MMOs that want you to log in everyday or would you prefer a less needy game? Dailies are common enough and offer repeatable content for a reward. But MMOs are going beyond dailies it seems to find ways to get us to login *every day* for fear of missing out.

Free mats!

Free mats!

The gardening in World of Warcraft is one example. You can quickly start mass-producing crafting materials using this instanced activity. Every day you can be growing cooking ingredients, but also enchanting mats, leather, cloth or herbs. With the herbs for example you seem to get a lot of golden lotus (the rarest herb in Pandaria), I mean one or two a day. That must have really hit the auction house prices when farming was patched in. Like any daily system, the farming is a reason to log in every day – yesterday’s crop needs harvesting and the plots need replanting again.

EQ2_000075

In Everquest 2 there’s the research system to get free spell upgrades on characters over level 20. So at present I have two characters that can research an upgrade every 1-2 days (the research duration sometimes takes over 24 hours). It’s well worth grabbing these upgrades, but I often forget to login if I’m playing something else.

Now Turbine are planning to add hobbit presents as a daily/weekly reward to players who login to LOTRO on a regular basis. I won’t go into just how tacky this new idea sounds, but the related issue for this post is how many games do I want to be logging into on a daily basis just to do chores or get freebies?

It’s starting to feel like some of these MMOs are “high maintenance” hobbies…

This entry was posted in EQ2, Gaming, LotRO, WoW. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ‘Needy’ MMOs

  1. bhagpuss says:

    I find it a really irritating trend. Fortunately I have the kind of personality that allows me just to ignore it when it doesn’t fit with what I want to do. I do my dailies with gusto in GW2 because they are just things I’d be doing anyway. If they weren’t, I wouldn’t, which is how I came to miss two monthlies there when they required Dungeon runs.

    In EQ2 I did the Research Assistant dailies (the Othmir that lives in your house version) religiously for months because I loved talking to the Othmir and I wanted the rewards. The automatic spell upgrades I do as and when I remember. I feel in control so it’s fine.

    Even though I’m not feeling overwhelmed by it, the whole “log in and we’ll give you a cookie” thing is getting out of hand. There’s a point beyond which it would actively put me off logging in just because of how naggy it feels. Being nagged isn’t fun even if you don’t give in to it.

  2. Needle Lady says:

    That’s actually why I walked away from WoW recently. I don’t want my gaming to feel like a second job.

  3. Imakulata says:

    I’m more of a “we used to walk uphill both ways in snow” type of person in this regard although I am not going to say we used to like it – in fact the reason I started to play WoW was because I perceived it as less needy than the game I played the most before which turned out to be true. I have stopped playing WoW since but that didn’t have anything to do with its needyness.

    On the other hand, I think MMOs could continue in the trend and become even less needy – I realize some people are worried about players leaving games if they are not forced to play but I am not.

  4. Telwyn says:

    I do wish I’d seen the Othmir version of the researcher, sounded cool. In general I’m worried that there is a trend here of trying to get players hooked on handouts. I’ve seen comments on both the LOTRO and Neverwinter Beta forums in the last few days along the lines of “good content will make players stay longer than any amount of dailies or freebies” and I agree wholeheartedly with this.

  5. I loved the researchers in EQII it allowed players more of the casual type to aquire master spells. It was a rather nice addition. Oddly GW2 started to feel like a second job/grind fest to me so that is one of the many reasons I left.

    • Telwyn says:

      Actually you’re right, I could have put GW2 dailies up there as another “must login every day” thing. It’s a bit better now than it was when you had to do the alloted five I suppose. But I’ve not felt any real desire to complete the daily when I’ve logged in recently.

  6. Pingback: Neverwinter: crafting basics | GamingSF

Comments are closed.