Neverwinter: early investors

The latest Massively interview with the lead producer for Neverwinter, Andy Velasquez,  mentions that the “Hero of the North” pack is the most popular pre-order pack “by far”. This costs $199.99, which gives you some in-game goodies (including early access and cosmetic stuff), for a free to play MMO. That’s roughly equivalent to a 20 month EQ2 subscription or 18 month SWTOR subscription. It’s also the same as the founder lifetime subscription was for LOTRO.

I’ll admit I’ve never bought a collector’s edition of any game, so clearly I’m not the target audience for this. For subscription games I’d rather just buy at launch and pay the sub as long as I continue to enjoy it – putting this much money into a game before it even launches is quite a gamble.

I do have a lifetime subscription to LOTRO; but I only bought it because Codemasters offered a half-price deal to EU customers for a short period before the transfer of all LOTRO and DDO EU players back to Turbine. At the moment this was offered I’d been playing as a subscriber for six months so I knew I liked the game and planned to continue playing.

It remains to be seen just how good value the Hero of the North and other pre-purchase packs are. I’ll be interested to see how the game is reviewed at launch, and to see what the free to play experience is like.

This entry was posted in Gaming. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Neverwinter: early investors

  1. kaozz says:

    I know what you mean. I considered this for Neverwinter and Dragon’s Prophecy, I just don’t know if I’ll stick to them. I don’t even know if I’ll like them, it is quite a gamble. That’s what holds me back a well. Especially for FTP, its a lot to sink into a game I haven’t played.

  2. lazybasterd says:

    Wow. If I’d known about the lifetime sub for LOTRO when it came out I Probably would’ve got it, but for a F2P game? Wow.

    I’m curious what sales would be like without the Drizzt class and pet.

Comments are closed.