EQ2: Klak’anon and mentoring

Over the weekend a guildmate offered to run me through a ‘contested zone’ as I had asked about doing some group content. The chosen zone was the mechanical-infested cave system of Klak’anon. This was a run with a level 95 dirge ‘mentoring’ me, so the dirge’s level was auto-reduced to the same as mine (level 43). It’s a very cool idea for a system to encourage players to play together, although in EQ2 due to the complexities of the Alternate Advancement (AA) system and gear stats, in practice this character was almost indestructible and could kill things before I got more than one or two hits in.

The caves of Klak'anon

The caves of Klak’anon

I got to practice some healing during the tougher fights and I clearly have a lot to learn. At level 43 my inquisitor has only three main heals, each with a cooldown. This makes heal-spamming WoW-style difficult if not impossible. The reactive heal-when-hit spells are another option but they don’t seem anywhere near as useful in dungeons as they are when I’m out questing in the open. I will have to look at what AA’s are good for healing and whether I’m missing other spells.

I also got to see the limitations of the mercenary AI. I died a couple of times in the tougher sub-zones, some had all red level 50-odd monsters! The dirge’s templar (healer cleric) mercenary steadfastly refused to resurrect me on two separate occasions despite it having access to such a spell.

No, I am not being paid to res you...

No, I am not being paid to res you…

It was a fun experience although I still would like to have a go at a dungeon ‘on level’ in a full or near full group. I think as I get higher level the chances of that happening will increase, but if that doesn’t work out then I can at least join in ‘achievement’ farming runs to see the inside of these old dungeons.

This entry was posted in EQ2, Gaming. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to EQ2: Klak’anon and mentoring

  1. pkudude99 says:

    Your reactive heals are your bread and butter. Suyre they won’t keep the tank up all by themselves, but they provide a ton of “heal mitigation” and thus allow your direct heals to keep up. Your group reactive is pretty bad due to the insanely long cast time, but it’s actually decent to cast on a pre-pull and then stack the single-target reactive with it. This means the tank gets 2 heals each time he’s hit (for the 1st 9 hits, anyway), plus whatever direct healing you put on it during the early phases of the fight when the mob tends to blow all of its high-damage cooldowns.

    Admittedly there’s a bunch of spamming the ST big heal on cooldown, but that’s just how healing is in EQ2. Still weave in your ST reactive whenever it drops off after that 5th proc. It puts out more healing than you may realize and you’ll find healing to be a lot easier.

    • Telwyn says:

      I’ve seen the value of the reactive heals when solo’ing, they’re amazing at avoiding major downtime. During this session generally I didn’t need to do much healing. I’ll admit I got stuck in ‘WoW mode’ when I did heal, spamming the three different cast-time heals I have at the moment. I’ll hopefully have another time to do some proper grouping though as I don’t want to get to the end-game never having run a dungeon properly!

  2. bhagpuss says:

    Mentoring in EQ2 is enormous fun for soloing and multi-boxing but nigh on useless for the purpose it was supposedly intending, namely meaningful grouping with someone outside of the regular XP grouping range. A character with a real level a lot lower than 93 can mentor down and solo Klak`Anon.

    Klak is a really great dungeon, well worth exploring at leisure. 43 would be barely high enough to do anything past the entrance even with a Merc (unless I’m misremembering the levels – haven’t been in there since last summer) but I would think a level 50 with a Merc could start to make some progress there.

    My EQ2 bible for where to go when was always http://eq2.wikia.com/wiki/Dungeon_Timeline . EQ2 has a crazy number of open and instanced dungeons and many of them are fascinating places to explore. MId-40s puts you in just the right place for the lower end of Obelisk of Lost Souls, which is one of my favorite dungeons anywhere and you would be set to do Deathfist Citadel, another really good dungeon, with a Merc.

    What the chances are of pick-up groups at lower levels these days I wouldn’t know, although lats year when I was playing regularly on Freeport you could still get PUGs fairly often in popular places lower than that, like Fallen Gate and Crushbone.

    • Telwyn says:

      Yes, the dirge was so over-powered in many ways, though certainly not indestructible. I’ll give molo’ing a go I suppose to experience the content at my pace, though that’s not really my preferred playstyle. I did a bit too much of that in SWTOR and personally I get bored of not grouping for this type of content even though I’ll admit it’s great that EQ2 supports people doing such content through the self-mentoring mechanism.

    • pkudude99 says:

      DFC and OoLS…. love both of them! Especially OoLS — it’s so much bigger than you initially realize and has so many interesting things tucked away in random corners and pits and such. Awesome dungeon!

Comments are closed.