SWTOR: back for the story

My Tera journey has drifted to a halt, mainly because the combat is the only thing the game has above the competition (IMHO). I’ll come back to my lasting impressions of the game another time, but yesterday’s game time was mostly dominated by a return to SWTOR.

Screenshot_2013-04-13_23_09_36_663186

I’d been duo’ing in Tera with my partner and his main complaint was the poor storytelling and “wall of text” quests. The obvious next game to try together would be SWTOR based on this alone – quest via cut scene? Yes! When I stopped SWTOR I’d hit the end game and wasn’t in the mood for a gear grind and leveling a new character so soon after finishing the first didn’t seem that attractive. Now however after a nine month break from the game I’m ready to start climbing the 1-50 ladder again (I’m ignoring the expansion’s 50-55 till it’s much nearer).

Screenshot_2013-04-13_21_44_25_214828

This journey will, at least for now, be done via the free to play model. I’m preferred status as an ex-subscriber and his account is currently free to play. I suspect we’ll drop the $5+ minimum to upgrade to preferred once we get to crafting and other activities that preferred status makes just that bit more convenient.

A few observations:

  1. The UI is very polished and fits the game well stylistically (this is a current perspective, ignoring any launch-time issues)
  2. The cut scenes are great if you have the time to enjoy them
  3. Randomly one NPC referred to our duo team in the plural during a cut scene! (Maybe this is the only NPC in the game programmed to care if you’re questing solo or duo+?)
  4. This game plays is such good fun as a small group game (2-4 players, companion fillers)

I’m playing a knight and he’s playing a consular so I’ll be rewatching the later story and seeing a new one myself. The pair will make a natural tank/healer combo + companions which I hope will allow us to two-man some flashpoints later in the game.

This entry was posted in Gaming, SWTOR. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SWTOR: back for the story

  1. Shintar says:

    Quite a few quest NPCs actually throw in an extra line about “your group” if there’s more than two of you. It’s one of those little details that I love about the game. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m looking forward to reading how you handle the F2P/preferred status as I’ve heard quite a few complaints from people who find it too limiting.

    As for duoing flashpoints, there’s quite a few where that’s possible, though one or two of them have mechanics that require a full group of real people. Still, with the group finder in game now, if you’re not afraid of randoms and you play a tank/healer team, it should be easy for you to insta-fill your two dps slots with two other players at the push of a button.

    • Shintar says:

      Errr, “more than one of you” is what I meant of course. ๐Ÿ˜›

    • Telwyn says:

      Not sure what we’ll do over grouping. Early days though. We do know some other friends who play or have played that we might be able to call upon to make up the numbers.

      I’m interested myself to see exactly what it’s like to play as a F2P title. It works in some cases better than others. So far the only annoyance has been the locked emotes as we tend to do a lot of light RP as we run around. But the game’s polish and solid storytelling is shining through such minor details.

Comments are closed.