LOTRO: lighting up for combat

I have an Alienware laptop which has lots of controllable light-up areas of the keyboard and case.

Keyboard, logo and right-hand front light lit default blue

Keyboard, logo and right-hand front light lit default blue

I just discovered to my delight that LOTRO has support to make use of this to indicate when your character is in combat.

Light scheme swaps to red when in combat

Light scheme swaps to red when in combat

When you load into the game however it shuts all the lights off, something that some see as a bug in the implementation.

Lights out when the game starts and when not in combat.

Lights out when the game starts and when not in combat.

It would be better to have the selected colour scheme active when not in combat. I might play a bit with it on just to experience the novelty, though I’m not much of a “gamer hardware” fanatic (I don’t use a ‘proper’ gamer mouse for my general gaming nor a controller to play action MMOs like Tera.) Still it’s an interesting feature that I’ve not seen supported by any MMOs that I’ve played before this.

This entry was posted in Gaming, LotRO. Bookmark the permalink.