10 years of WoW questions

The ALT: ernative blog has a set of ten questions ahead of this Thursday’s announcement on the 10th anniversary celebrations for WoW. I’ve not been playing Warcraft for a while now but it’s a pretty monumental anniversary for the game nonetheless, more details can be found here on the EU Battle.net page.

Without further preamble, here are my answers:

  1. Why did you start playing Warcraft?
    A close friend of mine had been playing for a bit and had showed me the game in Vanilla. Then soon after the launch of the Burning Crusade expansion I gave in and tried it, soon after my partner also did the trial and the rest is history.
  2. What was the first ever character you rolled?
    An orc warlock, although my main for most of the time I played was my second character – a night elf balance druid.
  3. Which factors determined your faction choice in game?
    We played mostly alliance as the majority of our guildmates/friends in-game played that. But we did have a mirror guild on the Horde side during the WotLK and Cataclysm eras to do the story content for that faction too.
  4. What has been your most memorable moment in Warcraft and why?
    Raiding Karazhan with an ‘rp raiding’ alliance of guilds. The runs were for fun more than progression with lots of  roleplaying in-between boss fight. Awesome times.
  5. What is your favourite aspect of the game and has this always been the case?
    The open world. Early on it was there to explore. Flying wasn’t an option, travel meant something and players would help one another with portals or warlock summons. There were tough-to-reach corners of the world and reasons to go there. The advanced crafting stuff and class quests in particular were so well-integrated into the world. A lot of that has been lost.
  6. Do you have an area in game that you always return to?
    I used to love the Draenei starter zones just for the architecture and memories. Also Hellfire Peninsula for the crazy sloping angles of some of the fragments.
  7. How long have you /played and has that been continuous?
    I can’t login now to check but I started in April 2007 and was continuously subscribed until the late Cataclysm era. I came back for maybe 9 months to play through the Pandaria storylines.
  8. Admit it: do you read quest text or not?
    Yep, always have and always will unless it’s truly badly written.
  9. Are there any regrets from your time in game?
    Not really, it was fun times with a great bunch of people. Maybe I should have stuck at leveling a warlock or hunter so I could have tried a pet class in heroics but I found hunter in particular boring to solo.
  10. What effect has Warcraft had on your life outside gaming?
    We’re still in touch with a few guildies in real life so that’s a big plus in my book!
On the hunt...

Azuremyst Island

WoWScrnShot_021013_214045

Hellfire Peninsula

This entry was posted in Gaming, WoW. Bookmark the permalink.