Neverwinter: Dragonborn Legend

I had a moment of excitement this morning as I saw the email from Perfect World announcing the Dragonborn Legend pack for Neverwinter. Packs are a macro-transaction, they range from the affordable (e.g. €29) up to the slightly ludicrous (e.g. €189). They usually give you some good in-game items though such as companions, mounts or consumables and the odd account level benefit like bonus character slots.

The devil is in the detail though as to whether you think any of these are personally worth the money to you. We both bought the Guardian of Neverwinter pack because a purple companion and blue mount (which curiously has the speed bonus of a purple mount) for every character I ever create is a pretty good deal in my mind.

There was no new pack for the current Icewind Dale module, which was a disappointment as I’m not a fan of RNG micro transactions like the lockboxes.

Looking at this new Dragonborn pack it seems a bit light on features though and is not light on price – €95 (though currently on discount at €71). It gives the titular race, that doesn’t particularly excite me. Also armour sets for said race, again, meh. The extra character slot and large bag are both worth having but not at that price.

So as it appears based on this news item I’ll pass on this pack. A new companion and mount per character pack would be a sure-sale to me, but since both are missing it just doesn’t seem worth the money.

This entry was posted in Gaming, Neverwinter. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Neverwinter: Dragonborn Legend

  1. Shintar says:

    That’s exactly what I thought when I saw that announcement. I’ve bought the Knight of the Feywild pack myself, because getting a purple quality unicorn mount and a purple companion on all my characters for €50 (plus some other stuff) seemed like a pretty good deal. €71-95 just for a new race and some random gear on the other hand doesn’t strike me as good value at all. :(

    • Telwyn says:

      The Reddit thread is interesting, I hadn’t noticed there’s an artifact that you get on every character but to be honest unless it’s purple/fully upgraded I’d still not be interested. Even then an artifact isn’t the same as having a companion and a mount for less money…

Comments are closed.