Happy St George’s Day: some virtual dragon slaying

Since yesterday’s evening gaming session coincided with Saint George’s Day in the UK, I felt it appropriate to go looking for some dragons to slay.

The Shatterer in Guild Wars 2

The Shatterer in Guild Wars 2

First stop Guild Wars 2, since when I sat down to game I found that this purple monstrosity was due to spawn in only 10 minutes or so. I was very glad to see that people still do the dragon fights en masse. Makes for a more fun experience when you’re working together with a larger group.

No corpse but a chest as proof

No corpse but a chest as proof

Stop two was in Everquest 2. There are real dragons to fight I expect, but as a lowly level 46 inquisitor I had to be satisfied with drakes. I happen to have killed a good number of those in Steamfont Mountains of late, but there was a named elite drake, Volesterus the Veridian, that I felt should be slain in honour of St George.

EQ2_000109

For good measure I’d also grabbed the New Halas city task to slay ten drakes in the same area.

EQ2_000111

Last stop Azeroth, a world with many virtual dragons to slay! Opting both for a classic dungeon, and quantity of dragon over quality I went to the sunken temple of Atal’Hakkar, home to a clutch of green dragons.

WoWScrnShot_042313_204719

Then it was the big bad dragon’s turn to be slain.

WoWScrnShot_042313_204650

As a final bonus, I thought I’d go hunting for the closest thing I could find to a dragon in SWTOR…

ok, so maybe I didn't slay this one...

ok, so maybe I didn’t slay this one…

 

This entry was posted in EQ2, Gaming, Guild Wars, SWTOR, WoW. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy St George’s Day: some virtual dragon slaying

  1. Mekhios says:

    Love it! :) Grats on the variety of MMO’s. Your next challenge – find a dragon in Darkfall Unholy Wars. ;)

    • Telwyn says:

      :-)

      Far too many games to fit into just one post, maybe next year!
      I could have included Rift and LoTRO as well but I felt they would have been a bit too samey.

  2. Now that was a rather neat concept!

Comments are closed.