EQ2: To molo or not to molo

Coming back to EQ2 I’ve found certain quests still in my log that I’m just not able to solo, group quests or normal quests that are just unusually hard – like A Spirit Key (wiki leak, spoilers ofc) from a tower in Darklight Woods. This isn’t a group quest, but I’ve tried on my poor squishy warden healer to solo it a few times and it just wasn’t possible.

EQ2′s answer to the solo difficulty problem is to have NPC mercenaries available for hire, similar to DDO and Guild Wars among other games. However unlike the generally weak companions in both the games I list, my new shadowknight companion seems to be more than capable of soloing the quests for me! Her set of expert level abilities probably has something to do with this, plus perhaps some wooliness in the gear scaling.

You expect how much pay?

You expect how much pay?

The quest was easily done with me barely getting a hit in other than commanding her to attack, sort of like having a higher level friend or guildmate coming to run you through the quest. My inquisitor in contrast can generally solo most stuff with his melee-oriented skills (via alternate advancement options) and automatic self-heal buff spells.

Victory purchased with gold...

Victory purchased with gold…

 

I don’t want to ruin the fun of challenging content, I really enjoy that EQ2 has normal quests that present an actual challenge (well, unless you twink your character to the max). It may give me some much needed practice at playing my warden as a healer rather than just a second rate dps class. Having a mercenary in party means I have someone to heal other than myself so I’ll get some inkling at how the threat mechanism works, playing mostly solo I’ve no idea about this at present. It’ll be interesting to experiment and hopefully I’ll make enough money through questing to afford the stiff mercenary hire fees!

This entry was posted in EQ2, Gaming. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to EQ2: To molo or not to molo

  1. pkudude99 says:

    Melee Warden = super OP, especially in the low levels. I have an Arasai Warden that I was able to solo up to the mid 50′s using just quest drops, and this was well before Mercs were added to the game — spec makes a big difference.

    Of course, I haven’t played in about 2 years now, so for all I know the melee warden spec was nerfed or something. . . .

    • Telwyn says:

      Hmmm, I’ve already been playing inquisitor as melee caster, don’t really want to end up with my warden as a carbon copy of that. I’ll give molo a chance as an alternative to that I think.

      • pkudude99 says:

        I’ve got an Inquisitor up in the mid 70′s also and while I did do the melee thing for a while with it, once into the 70′s it started doing better as a pure caster again, so I specced back. Warden still owned as melee, though. and I never felt that the warden was a carbon copy of the quizzie. Sure, they both did melee AA’s, but that was the end of the similarity as far as I was concerned.

        But again, this was all at least 2 years ago. I have no idea if/how it’s changed since I last played.

Comments are closed.