GW2: the future

After our last duo game of Tera my partner commented that we must log back into Guild Wars 2 sometime. I agreed of course, but that sort of stuck in my mind afterwards, for whatever reason GW2 just hasn’t been that ‘sticky’ a game for either of us – if either of us was that into it still we’d be playing it I’m sure.

In my recent post on scoring MMOs it scored equal highest so in theory I should be wanting to play it more than I do. I think in part it’s just ennui with the direction the game is going in. The addition of gear grinding was a real shame I feel as a GW1 fan, I wanted a game with ‘horizontal’ content not just another tiered gear ladder. Secondly I just don’t find the trinity-less dungeons fun at all even when played with the friends I normally play with. Given one of the major end-game PVE activities is the Fractals randomised dungeons that’s a problem for me.

I was excited about the personal story space, or housing for want of a better word, yet it turned out to be under-utilised in the extreme and still remains a ‘forgotten’ system. Syl talks about the town clothes system and the rather strange insistence by ArenaNet that costumes should not be allowed in combat. Personally I think this is a mistake – I agree 100% with Syl that during the ever chaotic combat the last thing I worry about is the fashion-sense of any nearby players. The dye system is very well implemented and quick to switch around, but why is the clothing system so arcane – especially the transmog stones?

The ‘geological’ pace of planning and updates, as Bhagpuss recently classified it, is a concern for me too. The focus on more open world content is certainly welcome and I’m hoping when I come back to the game again for a new character leveling stint I’ll not feel over familiar with the majority of the events – that of course presumes that the devs deliver on a major refresh every so often. A good dose of open world story content would go a long way to attracting us back into game. So far the ‘living story’ has been glacial in it’s delivery and rather lack-luster I would add. I’ll be keeping a close eye on what follows though, that’s the beauty of the buy-to-play model I suppose.

Perhaps the other major issue for me is that, in comparison with SWTOR, I found the main storyline somewhat poorly paced. Bits were great and exciting to play, but other bits – the majority perhaps – was fairly bland. The decisions we take have little to no actual impact which harms replayability in the longer-term as well. This dulled my desire to play alts in the short term because for me it’s more about story than just playing other characters.

This entry was posted in Gaming, Guild Wars. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to GW2: the future

  1. yanniesaurus says:

    I had never played GW but I did play GW2 and I agree, there was NOTHING that would pull you in.

Comments are closed.