Tera: big lances and little heroes

I’ve started a duo with my partner to show him Tera. We’re level 9 and zooming through the starter isle experience at present. Still not much in the way of proper group content, I’m looking forward to trying our Lancer / Mystic duo out on a BAM or two.

Smaller heroes deserve the most impractically oversized weapons...

Smaller heroes deserve the most impractically oversized weapons…

Lancer combat, or melee combat in general in Tera is something new. I’m a caster / ranged player normally in all of these games, but there is something interesting about mouse-look combat on melee. It seems *very* immersive somehow. Perhaps I won’t feel the same when I’m trying to keep aggro in dungeons!

Gathering fun

Gathering fun

 

Like Vanguard SoH, Tera rewards a group for gathering materials together. In our session we were both getting materials from the same node, and the process seemed sped-up as well. Anything to encourage team spirit is always a good thing in my opinion.

Double ding

Double ding

I can forsee questing as a pair having major advantages in later levels, some areas are such a pain to solo on my priest if there aren’t other players around to keep trash mobs under control. All the quests seem to work well enough in group, an advantage of simpler quest mechanics no doubt. Thankfully so far with the free to play relaunch the zones have been buzzing so I’ve not had too many problems. But at least on this character that will never be an issue.

This entry was posted in Gaming, Tera. Bookmark the permalink.