A game for any mood

It’s remarkable how various MMOs can have so much in common yet be so different. I played both EQ2 and Tera last night, and enjoyed both equally for different aspects. The questing in EQ2 is superlative, as I’ve said before. I’ve just started leveling a Sarnak shadowknight and am loving the Gorowyn starter area and this lizard-man race.

Sarnak in Gorowyn city

Sarnak in Gorowyn city

I wanted a character to become my heavy armour crafter, so I can eventually make decent crafted armour for my inquisitor main character. That sounds like a good excuse for an alt! The stories and the crafting are very engaging and the combat, though very traditional tab-target fair, is kept interesting enough by a) heroic opportunities (combos that you can do solo or in a party) and b) the danger of over-pulling in most areas. EQ2 still has a lot of groups and open world elites once you get past the starter zones.

Heroic opportunity combo on an elite crocodile

Heroic opportunity combo on a named crocodile

Then I swapped to Tera for a change of pace. Tera is all about the action-combat if you read the reviews from its launch. This may seem an obvious thing to state but I was struck by how engaging I find the combat.

Strafing and dodging are very important especially when you over-pull!

Strafing and dodging are very important especially when you over-pull!

Fights in general are usually groups or pairs, so there are few static fights in the early game at least. Beyond simple quests though, I was lucky enough to get into several random groups last night in order to kill open world elite monsters.

Group against a BAM

Group against a BAM

I needed to kill two different BAM elite monsters within the same zone and both times, as I wandered over to have a look, some players were attacking one. I ran over throwing damage spells and heals and got an instant invite to party. So I had the opportunity to try active-combat healing some more and I have to say it’s great fun! I’m not ready to declare Tera my main game, but it sure makes an interesting change of pace from all the others in my stable of games.

 

This entry was posted in EQ2, Gaming, Tera. Bookmark the permalink.