Christmas gaming

Christmas with my family has always involved lots of gaming, though the nature of that gaming has changed with time. When I was a child it was generally board games (traditional ones such as Cluedo or Careers) or games of cards.¬†Over the years we’ve passed through periods of playing interactive DVD games, consoles games, handheld consoles (8 player Mario Kart is still a favourite!) and on to the online gaming era.

This year was a real mix of old(ish) and new. We played a good amount of Magic the Gathering (so many of the newer cards are *broken* with a capital B to old-school players like my partner and I), some WII dancing games with the youngest and oldest members of the family and of course some MMO gaming as well. I introduced several of my family to WoW years ago, and they kept on happily playing while I’ve meandered through half a dozen other MMOs. So this Christmas, as I’d just started playing again, it was a chance to play the game with family again. Sure it’s an online game so I don’t have to wait to Christmas to play with them, right? Well that’s the thing, even with online games, I find them infinitely more enjoyable to play when my party/team mates are in the same room as me!

So it was a very good Christmas, we ate too much, drank just about the right amount, watched a little TV and played a whole range of games together having an enormous amount of fun in the process.

This entry was posted in Gaming, WoW. Bookmark the permalink.