Guild Wars 2: guardian love

I’ve had a very manic couple of weeks, so gaming sessions have been short and fewer than normal. Guild Wars 2 has taken a backseat in favour of Rift until this weekend when I managed to get in some quality time on one of my solo characters. I still am very happy playing my Asura mesmer, but he’s a static duo character so he has to wait on us having time to play together.

Solo character wise I started off playing an elementalist but that’s a pretty hardcore solo character to level. More recently I finally started my planned Norn guardian (naturally before the game even launched I had a list of the race/class combos I was going to create!).

Raise shields!

Raise shields!

So far, and he’s only level 11 as of today, I’m loving the class. I’ve always had a soft spot for the paladin and cleric classes, guardian is very much of the paladin mould. I get to smash things with righteous fury while giving off healing and boon auras and fields effects.

In honour of wolf

In honour of wolf

Mixing up old class stereotypes with Tyrian lore could be rather interesting from a roleplaying perspective, I can’t think of many games that would offer the chance to play a paladin from a shamanic tradition for instance (perhaps Vanguard’s barbarian race?).

It’s very easy to get your ‘5 a day’ events in the Norn area as there are some great event chains that you can trigger if you know where to go (or stumble across them as I just did!). It’s also one of the more varied starter zones for creature types which again helps with the daily kill variety element. I’m not a slave to the daily achievement of course, but occasionally I like to chase that as an alternative session-goal rather than focusing on personal story or exploring new areas.

Taking sessions out for this achievement is also a good way of avoiding the ‘must progress’ mentality. It’s an easy trap for me to fall into especially where there’s a strong story to follow, but I find doing that for more than a few sessions quickly has me feeling rushed. In a game as beautiful visually as Guild Wars 2 is, it really is worth stopping to ‘smell the flowers’ every once in a while.

gw011

This entry was posted in Gaming, Guild Wars. Bookmark the permalink.